Election of the new ATA Executive Board – 2020

György Csóti, the acting President of the Hungarian Atlantic Council (MAT) and Zsolt Rábai, participated in the general assembly of the Atlantic Treaty Association (ATA).

The event was originally to be held in spring 2020 but was delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic. The General Assembly took place online and lasted for approximately 3,5 hours. The representatives from member organisations evaluated the recent ATA activities, discussed the achievements, as well as the state of operational costs and expenditures. Last but not least, the members have also elected the new executives of ATA. Based on the proposal of the German chapter, a smaller caretaker team was elected for a transitional period.

The Acting President of MAT supported the proposal of his German colleague, Christian Schmidt. The members of ATA elected Jim Townsend (USA) as ATA President, while Werner Fasslabend (Austria), Krista Mulenok (Estonia), Alex Serban (Romania) will serve as Vice Presidents. Monika Begovic (Croatia) was elected Secretary General of the organization, and Johannes Kahrs (Germany) will act as ATA’s Treasurer. The mandate of the new ATA board lasts until the end of the first quarter of 2021, and the main task of the new executive team will be to stabilise the financial position of the organisation and to draft a new statute.

Translated by Artúr Hőnich

Debrenti Á. Félix

Debrenti Á. Félix

Felix A. Debrenti holds a degree in International Relations from Eötvös Loránd University and is currently enrolled in a master's program in Management and Leadership at the Institute of Business Economics of ELTE. He has several years of experience working at a multinational SSC company and has held lead roles in various non-profit organizations. Presently, he works at the Prime Minister's Cabinet Office in Hungary as the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Political Director of the Prime Minister. Furthermore, he is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of The Budapester magazine and serves as the Vice President for the Hungarian Atlantic Council. In 2018, he co-founded YATA Hungary and served as its president until 2022.